To be or not to be … targeted

We hear about targeted teachers all the time – pre-service teachers whose transcript is so good, schools line up for them.

It is always about getting the right mark, but what is the right mark?  When you talk to teachers in schools they deny it, but principals don’t.

What I want to know is what needs to be displayed to be a targeted teacher?

I happen to have a very nice looking transcript so far, however, due to time constraints, have just submitted possibly my worst ever assignment.  An assignment worthy of a 1st year student who has no experience in writing essays.  It is one of those things when juggling work and family that the time necessary to submit something half decent just doesn’t exist.

So I have submitted this poor excuse for an assignment.  I have assessed myself against the marking criteria and am thinking Credit, if I’m lucky.  Which means on the next assignment for the subject I need as close to 100% as possible just to even scrape by with a distinction for the subject.

Ultimately it means that if I did have a chance of being targeted, I no longer do.  Quite depressing really.  But then, did I have a chance?  Is it even real?  Is it based on being a HD average student or 95+ average student?  Maybe I wasn’t ever good enough, or maybe it’s all just a myth anyway.

Really, its quite depressing.  Or is it more that I’m just really vain when it comes to my transcript and I don’t like the idea that it will be tarnished?  It’s quite ridiculous actually because I spend so much time sprouting the usual “Ps means degrees”, which it does – just not for me.

I possibly could have spent more time on it – I have a few more hours up my sleeve, but my children are now home from school, they have sport to get to, we have Mass to get to and my sister has her own uni assignment that she wants me to proofread, so it had to be submitted.

I think we just have to face reality that I will be quite depressed on the day that these results come back.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

